Jump to the main content block

NSYSU Taiwan-Europe Connectivity Scholarship



The Taiwan-Europe Connectivity Scholarship was established by Taiwan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) in 2021 to encourage European students to undertake short-term studies in Taiwan and enhance Mandarin Chinese proficiency. National Sun Yat-sen University (NSYSU) is one of the major universities to receive a comprehensive grant to provide scholarships to students of European universities. Recipients of the scholarship will be granted visas to Taiwan and take in-person classes.


List of Project

In 2021, NSYSU received grants for the projects of the Czech Republic, U.K., Hungary, and 14 European Countries (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland). 


Eligibility for Applying

Students (without Chinese or Taiwanese nationality) who are enrolling at a university in the above-mentioned countries are eligible to apply for the TEC scholarship. They are entitled to receive the scholarship once they are accepted to the NSYSU Student Exchange Program. No additional application is needed.


Conditions for Receiving the Full Scholarship

1. Students from the same university must take the same flight and follow the schedule to arrive in Taiwan.

2. Students are required to take and pass the Chinese course NSYSU offers for exchange students (4 hours per week, 3 credits).

3. Students need to fully cooperate with the regulations and measures at NSYSU and in Taiwan, especially in COVID-19 prevention.

4. MOFA and NSYSU might ask the recipients to take interviews or participate in surveys for their experience in Taiwan.

5. Recipients are encouraged to participate in English immersion activities designed and conducted by NSYSU at local elementary and high schools.


Press Release

1. Ministry announces Europe scholarship program - Taipei Times 

2. MOFA vows to deepen Taiwan-Europe ties through scholarship program - Taiwan Today


Spring 2021 - Czech Republic Project

The first batch of students receiving the Taiwan-Europe Connectivity Scholarship. 

Click Num: